Update on Baby Klaus / Fundraising information!

Ok. No doubt, (especially since I haven’t blogged since then… ) you all remember me posting about Baby Klaus, the baby with hydrocephalus in Texas, right?

Well, I have some good news!

Sheri Burdine, the founder of Hydro Angels Over Texas, the non-profit organization that’s supporting the Klaus family both financially and spiritually — finally got back to me!

She says the family is doing as well as can be imagined in this type of situation. They have been able to bring the family (who has 2 other kids as well) up to see Baby Klaus several times, and have the money raised to bring them up for Christmas as well. Which, is amazing. I couldn’t imagine being apart from my baby at Christmas time – no matter the circumstances.

Baby Klaus still doesn’t have a typical shunt, though they’ve put a sort of external drain in, to slowly drain the fluid till they can safely install what most of us would know as a “regular” shunt.  I’ve been told he’s finally got enough pressure relieved that he can close his eyes, and has started undergoing reconstructive surgery!

Sheri then went on to explain some other things they were doing for the family for Christmas – which got me thinking. I believe I’m going to send the family a Christmas card. Just a note, something saying that I hope they’re doing well, something encouraging.  I’m sure they’re getting plenty of that, but I can’t help but think that if I was in that situation, I’d take any little reminder that someone was there, and cared. You know?

Understandably, the family has asked to keep their address, and some other personal information private, so I don’t have their mailing address. I do have the Hydro Angel’s mailing address – and a promise that anything meant for the Klaus family will make it to them.   So, if anyone is interested in sending them a note, here is the address :  

Hydro Angels Over Texas

P O BOX 311901

New Braunfels, Texas 78131

I would imagine you could put something like “Klaus Family C/o Hydro Angels over Texas” in the address, so that they would know that it’s meant for the family without opening the card. 🙂

 

Also, I’ve been talking with Sheri and Baja Jacks about setting up a fundraiser to help the family.  We finally got all the details in place – and found a date that works for everyone — January 29th!  Baja Jack’s will open early that Saturday, and serve breakfast, along with their normal menu items, from 9-11.

25% of the proceeds will be donated to the Hydro Angels over Texas to help the Klaus family with their expenses/needs during this time.

There’s also a Facebook event for the fundraiser. Please feel free to RSVP, and to use the “invite” button to let friends and family know what’s going on. Baja Jack’s has great food already, but their breakfast menu is absolutely extraordinary, and the owner and the staff are some of the nicest I’ve come across in any restaurant lately.  My husband and I can hardly walk in the door without someone saying hello, waving, or stopping to talk. I can’t imagine a better, or easier way to help out a family in need, than by simply stopping in for breakfast.

Again, I’m not a member of this organization, but I feel very strongly about what they’re doing to help this family. Something about Baby Klaus’ story touched me, and I felt like I needed to help, any way that I can.

If you’d like more information about the breakfast fundraiser – or any questions about hydrocephalus in general – please let me know! I’ll try to answer you as best I can, or refer you to a better source.

If you’d like more information on Baby Klaus, you can go to the Hydro Angels’ website, or contact them at info@hydroangelsovertexas.com .

2 thoughts on “Update on Baby Klaus / Fundraising information!

  1. Elaine says:

    Has there been any update since? This blog is a few years old

    • Tina says:

      None that I’m aware of. Last I heard he was doing well. But, I never heard anything else . You could always ask the Hydro Angels though, they may know.

Leave a Reply

