Excited, nervous, and everything in between.

First, some backstory.  Anyone who knows my husband and I… This won’t come as a surprise to you, feel free to skip this first part.

For everyone else, Matt is…. What’s the polite term? A technology geek. Elitist. Completist. Techno snob. All of the above….

Unfortunately, it doesn’t stop at just the fancy music equipment. It extends to all other media as well. Blu Rays, players, CDs, you name it.

Not long ago, we invested in a 3D plasma tv. That was a story in itself. New technology. Repairs. Replacements. Technicians who had never seen one, and called their friends/coworkers to come see.

Then, we realized, we needed a 3D player to match, or the purchase was pointless.

So, we found one, and got it.

Got it significantly cheaper than we should have too, because of all the problems with the TV. AND, free glasses.

What? You say you haven’t heard me talk about these cool new glasses?

Well, my friend, I know.

It’s because we never got them.

I’d have to ask Matt to be sure, but I swear, its been 6 months!! 

Problem after problem came up… Calling them did no good. Matt may have talked to half their employees. No joke.

So finally…. The Blu Ray player started dying.

Cue Matt, king of internet research.

He found another, pricier one… With glasses.. and impeccable customer care.(hey. Once burned…)

Long story short… They came in. Finally, we can watch a 3D movie.

Well, I can watch one.

We only bought one set of glasses….

And by watch, I mean, I get to try to watch it…

Oh. Right. Have I mentioned I don’t have binocular vision?

I see from one eye at a time . Not great for depth perception.

Which… Explains marching band disasters, my lovely driving and parking skills, & my unending gracefulness.

Also… I’ve never seen a magic eye.

Finally asked my eye Dr about it, and why I never got to wear the cool 3D glasses at my check ups…& he laughed, and very sweetly explained that they wouldn’t work for me, because of my strabismus.

I was so mad. I had literally spent years in elementary school trying to see those. I was like that kid in Mallrats. I wish I was kidding….

So here I am. 25. Have dodged every opportunity I’ve ever had to see a 3D movie… Have long lasting issues with Magic Eye pictures.. and tonight, I’ll be watching Tron Legacy, on my very own, all 3D, Blu Ray setup.

And I’m terrified.

Firstly, if I can’t see it, we aren’t buying the second pair, because it’d be pointless, really.

Second, I’ve never seen 3D before. This slips my mind from time to time, & I have made the mistake of getting excited about the even slight possibility that I might be able to see it…

The concept of it is fascinating. Does it really look like it pops out of the screen? How is that even possible??

More along those lines, what if I can actually see it? Why that,and not normal 3D?

I dunno. I know I’m talking in circles, and probably looking too much into it.. but I’m not sure what to think about it at all! It’s quite a thought to know you can’t see 3D . Go so long not seeing it, avoiding the movies, and now, getting excited about watching a movie, and hoping you’ll be able to see it.

Anyway. I’ll stop now… But- I’ll be sure to post & let you know how it goes!

2 thoughts on “Excited, nervous, and everything in between.

  1. You’re not really missing anything. I’m not sure if it’s related to my hydrocephalus or not but I get a headache every time I try to watch a 3-D movie. Well, most of the time. I was fine at the Glee movie.

Leave a Reply

