Who couldn’t use some extra “pixie dust”?

Any readers who are Disney Parks fans, are going to instantly know what I’m referring to. I’d be willing to bet — and if this is you, please comment and let me know — that some of you are already nodding emphatically, grinning like a 5 year old, or thinking of your own “pixie dust” stories you’ve been involved in. (Giving, or receiving.)

For those of us who aren’t down with the Disney subculture, (you poor, deprived beings!) let me explain.  I haven’t discovered some new drug, nor do I have Tinkerbell locked up in my loose change jar. 😉

“Pixie Dust” is a widely used term, for when someone — a Disney Cast Member, usually — gives you or your family special treatment in the parks.  A free room upgrade? Pixie Dust!  Cinderella and Prince Charming spent a little extra time with the family at the meet and greet?  Pixie Dust! A family greets you as they leave the park, and hand you their extra fast passes, or a stroller? Even more Pixie Dust! 

Anyone who’s been following me for a long time, probably remembers me blogging about our trip to Walt Disney World.  Unfortunately, those posts seem to be majorly screwed up beyond repair. I’ll see what I can do about fixing them soon – I promise. 

But, my husband and I were lucky enough to have some extra pixie dust thrown our way by Aladdin and Jasmine. I’ll link you to the post on another website, since my blog isn’t cooperating on those posts. 

(Quick Tip: Before you all jump in, I’m very much aware that they aren’t Aladdin and Jasmine.  But, since I’m sharing my Disney obsession with you readers, I’ll educate you further. 🙂 You NEVER say this in the parks.  Or online, where children – or WDW employers- could read. You can say that this person is a friend of Aladdin and Jasmine’s, or simply, say that they are Aladdin and Jasmine.  Naturally, there is only one of each character in the parks… )

SO. Anyway, now that we are caught up on the pixie dust subject… it makes the rest of this blog make a touch more sense. 🙂 Well, that and the fact that aside from my Disney obsession, another cause very close to my heart, is hydrocephalus awareness.  It’s a brain condition I have, and I volunteer with a national nonprofit for the condition, and I blog about it from time to time.  

As you might have realized from the post that I linked you to  (or, any of my personal soclal media sites, I’ve started up a new project – one that I’m calling, Project Pixie Dust. 

Really, the premise is simple. The goal, is to record inspiring video messages for children who have hydrocephalus. Short, inspiring messages from their favorite characters, to them. 

The initial plan was to make these videos solely at Walt Disney World, when we went on trips, but things have evolved a bit since then.  WDW is still the central, and very important part of the project  – but we aren’t stopping there. 

Lately, I’ve been talking with cosplayers. Some pretty amazing cosplayers, at that.   And, for me to say that , is kind of a big deal.  I don’t think too terribly much of the cosplay lifestyle.  You have to spend so much money and time on costumes… especially if you want quality. Even MORE money to go to the conventions… etc, etc. So, really, cosplayers do not have a soft spot in my heart. 

So, you can safely assume that these people I’m talking to have been nothing short of amazing.  I’m not talking about their costumes, or their looks, either. Almost every single person I’ve spoken to about the project, has been ecstatic about becoming involved. A few used the word “honored”.  Several of them posted about it on their personal blogs.

 I’ve even gotten random emails and messages from people that I haven’t reached out to, asking how they can get involved. 

It may not sound like much… but for a project that isn’t even off the ground yet? I think that’s pretty cool. 

And really… we may have no videos made yet… but in my mind, it makes me laugh – I could almost say I’m accomplishing my goal as we go.  All these people, they’re taking time out of their life, to not only learn about a medical condition that has NO impact on their lives whatsoever… but to take the time record a message for children. Again, something that’s not earning them any money… it’s not getting them cosplay notoriety… nothing.  There is zero ulterior motive here… and I think it’s the coolest thing in the world.

Adding to the cool level, and we’re talking in a “Tina’s-really-spazzing-out” way…. I had emailed one of my favorite authors about getting involved. I don’t want to jinx it, so no names yet! But, she had some books she’s had a part in writing that have disabilities or imperfections playing a big part in the society of the books. So, naturally, I wanted to try asking.

 She emailed me back , and sounded interested.  We’ve been talking a bit… I don’t think she’s going to do a video, but she offered to write a blurb or something for it.  We’re still emailing back and forth about it, I’ll definitely share the story later. 

Things are definitely in the infancy stages – but it’s really exciting.  I talk to at least one or two new people each day, and am seeing a few new followers on the social media sites.  I’m working on writing a script for a Riddler cosplayer, and I’m racking my brain for ideas for a Stephanie Brown / Robin one. (Any ideas?!)

Check it out, and let me know what you think!  Also, if you’re interested in recording a video message – please, let me know! It doesn’t matter who you are or what you do – if you want to help, I can assure you 100%, you’ll make someone’s day, just by caring. ❤

 Project Pixie Dust on YouTube, Tumblr, Twitter, and Facebook. 

Leave a Reply

