Vegan Divinity Recipe!

Yeah,   I know. It really doesn’t seem possible. But stick with me. It really is.

I haven’t had divinity in years.  (Though, to be fair, only a year of that is due to veganism. The rest of it can be chalked up to a severe lack of patience. If you’ve ever made – or tried to make – divinity, you know exactly what I’m talking about.

I’d googled a bit trying to find a vegan version – and managed to find one. It didn’t look even close to normal divinity though, as the flax it had you sub for the egg whites didn’t fluff or get “stiff peaks.” And, with divinity was something we used to make  yearly – I’d rather go without than to have a subpar substitute.

Luckily for me – someone a lot braver than I am found a substitute.  Aquafaba.

I forget exactly who discovered it, but my Facebook news feed has exploded in the past few months with people obsessed with this new way to make meringues.  Instead of whipping egg whites to get the desired frothy, stiff peaks, people were using bean brine.  Or, really, the juice you normally pour out of the can of chickpeas.   It sounds bizarre, and you’d think you could taste it (sometimes apparently you can. All depends on brand!) but apparently it works! The logic behind it is that the starch from the beans gets into the liquid, and that’s what makes it stiff when you beat it.

Well. I’m sure it’s loads more scientific than that… but thats the gist.

After lots of drooling on Facebook, I found this group Vegan Meringues on Facebook. And oh my gracious. Aquafaba is amazing. Marshmallows, cakes, macarons, meringues, nougat, royal icing… and so much more. It’s amazing.  And extremely intimidating, but that’s another story.

Seeing people post their “before” pictures of the meringues made me think . They looked EXACTLY like what my mom’s divinity used to look like.   So I posted a few times, and people seemed to think it would work – to just sub 2 tbsp ish of brine for each egg white.

So, I decided to try it. And lo and behold – it worked!!

Here is the recipe, and a few pictures.   Though, I’m not a food blogger. And I’m for SURE not a photographer , so be forgiving. 🙂  (Full recipe at the end of the post)

First, you start beating the brine. 4 tablespoons isn’t very much, so it will seem awkward at first.  But it will fluff up soon!

This. . . . .takes . . . ages. . .

While doing this- start the sugar, water, corn syrup and salt on the stove. You want to stir it constantly until the sugar is dissolved. Then you don’t stir. (I worry, so I stirred every once in a while. My mom said you don’t need to though.)  You let it cook until it reaches hard ball stage on a candy thermometer.   Then, you’ll add it to the mixer.

Now you’re about ready to add the sugar mixture. Beat a bit more, just to be safe..

When the chickpea juice looks like this ^ you’re good to go. I personally beat it a little longer. Because I’ve had divinity flop on me before – so now I’m paranoid.

Then, you s-l-o-w-l-y add the hot syrup – and PLEASE BE CAREFUL . IT”S HOT – and the vanilla.

Then, you beat it some more.

And more.

And more.

Seriously. You will be SO SICK of beating this by the time you’re done.

You want to beat it until it holds its own shape. It will take forever.

11156118_447609665405139_760979898088920677_n

When it looks like the picture above- you’re done!

Then, you spoon it out onto a sheet, and let it sit up. 🙂

Ta da!!

I was a little worried it would taste bean-y- but nope! It tasted exactly like I remember!  Both my mom and brother loved them. They are both VERY wary of vegan food – and are candy elitists.

I won’t go into detail about how I reacted to being able to make egg fee divinity. But I will admit it involved lots of screeching, dancing, and words that shouldn’t be repeated in front of small children or mixed company. 🙂

This makes me SUPER happy – I imagine it would be great for families with egg allergies as well! I’m going to attempt to try peanut butter rolls next – I’ll be sure to report how that goes! If you guys try it- please, let me know how it goes!

Divinity/ Divinity Fudge

2 C Sugar

1 C Water

1/4 C Corn Syrup

1/8 tsp Salt

4 tbsp Chickpea Brine

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 C Chopped nuts (optional)

Heat sugar, water, corn syrup and salt in a pot, stirring constantly until sugar is dissolved. Continue cooking until it reaches hard ball stage on a candy thermometer .  While doing this – beat the chickpea broth with a hand/stand mixer until it starts to hold a shape. And then, if you’re like me, beat for just a little longer.  (Whisk attachment)

Slowly add the sugar mixture and vanilla into the foamy beaten brine, and beat until stiff peaks. It’s super important that you get stiff peaks that hold its own shape. Otherwise the divinity won’t set up, it’ll melt into yummy, sugary puddles. Add nuts, if using, the spoon out in dollops onto wax paper.  (Or, put into a pan, and cut into squares. )

17 thoughts on “Vegan Divinity Recipe!

  1. Lizzy Love says:

    HELLO!!!!!! Im about to try this recipe I have been longing for divinity since I was a kid but after years and years of veganism now iI really didnt think it ever possible,Im soooooooo excited right now…..my only concern is that most of your pics above are not showing for me, I thought it might just be an issue with my cell phone so i have tried on my pc and different browsers but only the one pic is showing up, your instructions indicate to beat until it looks like the pic, but if I cant see the pic I am at a loss lol Not sure if there is anything you can do or not to fix the pics but I am going to give it a go now without them and hope for the best lol if it doesn’t go well then I will hope to look forward to trying again with the pics if you are able to add them back in. thank you for braving this undiscovered territory for all us vegan divinity lovers!!!!!! lol 🙂

    • Tina says:

      Oh no!! I wonder why it’s not showing?

      It should look pretty much identical to how normal divinity does, if you remember.

      • Lizzy Love says:

        wow ty so much for your quick reply! 🙂 I cant remember really, I was maybe 10 years old at the most lol the last time I made or should say assisted the making of divinity lol 34 now so its been a while but now knowing that I will just go check out some youtube vids to get an idea of how it should look. thanx again so much for your help, I cant wait for this! lol I have also joined the fb group you linked to so if it turns out I will post some pics and credit you for the recipe! 🙂

    • Tina says:

      I found a picture in that group I posted.:) I’ll tag you- what name is your FB under?

  2. Evelyn Hamilton says:

    Do you know of anyone who has made this substituting something for the corn syrup? I sure would like to know how to do that! I’ll google now and sees what I can find. Please let me know if you have any idea. Thanks.

    • Tina says:

      I don’t know, off hand.:/ I’m sorry!

    • Evelyn Hamilton says:

      Tina, I just found it is easily replace with simple syrup. Very happy because I have health concerns about eating corn syrup and I want to eat a LOT of this, lol
      Thanks for trying this out!
      You can replace 1 cup of light corn syrup with 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar dissolved in 1/4 cup hot water or other liquid used in the recipe. For 1 cup of dark corn syrup, you can use the following substitutions: 3/4 cup light corn syrup plus 1/4 molasses. 1 cup honey.
      What can I substitute for corn syrup? | MyRecipes.com

    • Chazz York says:

      You can use glucose syrup in place of the Corn Syrup. I have never had Divinity fudge so I have no idea what it is like. Is it like Nougat or like regular fudge in texture? I noticed the recipe is very similar to how Nougat is made, and that is why I think that Glucose Syrup would be the best replacement for the Corn Syrup. Now can some one fill me in on the texture of the fudge?

      • Tina says:

        It’s not much like nougat at all, IMO. But I’ve heard the comparison several times. So maybe!
        It’s closer to fudge. Very creamy, melts in your mouth.

  3. […] of pies. It didn’t disappoint me in this wonderful recipe that I adapted from the ingenious Tina Daniels. I made very small additions and adjustments for it to work for me, but her recipe can stand on its […]

  4. […] 14. Divinity Fudge – divinity is a nougat-like confection typically made with egg white, corn syrup, and sugar. Simply replace the egg whites in traditional divinity recipes with chickpea brine for the exact same results! Vanilla extract, chopped dried fruit and chopped nuts add more interest and texture. […]

  5. Chazz York says:

    What is the Consistency of the Divinity Fudge. I have never had it before.

  6. lazykat says:

    Wonderful recipe. I did subsitute light agave nectar for the corn syrup and it came out incredible. It’s been over 30 plus years since I’ve had divinity. Ironically, I was never successful making it the traditional way with egg whites. Can’t wait to try more aquafaba recipes.

  7. Christina says:

    I was afraid I would not be able to make this, but your recipe work perfect and I can’t thank you enough for sharing this. This was my mom’s favorite candy growing up and now I can make it for her. I’ve missed this candy so much. A lot of the things I missed so much since turning vegan I can actually have now and this is definitely at the top of my list!

Leave a Reply

